Training, 8 weeks to go

I finally met the Trek bike store training group. Trek is a sponsor of the San Diego Century and has agreed to lead training groups for the 100-mile ride. My old director trained with this group before his ride across America and he was satisfied with them. He suggested I train with them.

The training ride consisted of a 53-mile loop that started at the Miracosta College campus in Encinitas, up through the Del Dios Highway to Escondido, around the outer edge of Escondido to San Marcos and San Marcos Boulevard, all the way down to the coast and back down to Encinitas. My group left at 8:45 or so and arrived back at MCC around 2:20 pm. I’m told we averaged 12.4 miles an hour. That’s nice, but 5 and a half hours is not good for a 50 miles ride.

I finally got some paceline practice in. I’m not sure how much faster the paceline went but now I understand the expected signals. Even so, I’m not sure how much I trust the paceline. I was not warned about a pothole until I ran over it. I ran over the hole with so much force that i popped the tire. I had a spare inner tube, but I think I would have avoided the whole if I had seen it sooner.

Somewhere along the way, I also lost another spoke. I need to figure out how to replace my own spokes because $25 to fix one spoke is too expensive. I discovered that the other local bike store has in-store bike repair, especially for spoke service. My original bike repair shop has to send their stuff down to SD for repairs, so it takes a while for bikes to get fixed.

About whybiketraining

biker in training
This entry was posted in Fitness, Rides. Bookmark the permalink.